The draws for the much anticipated HSBC Hong Kong Rugby Sevens has been declared and the round six of the World Series will be played from the twenty third of March till the Twenty fifth of March at the renowned Hong Kong stadium.

The first event will feature the current twelve teams of the HSBC Sevens World Rugby Sevens series have been drawn into three different pools-Pool A, Pool B and Pool C. The other competition will be featuring twelve good teams from the six IRB rugby regions. These twelve teams will be fighting it out for three very crucial core team places. These twelve teams have also been grouped into three pools, namely Pool D, Pool E and Pool F.

Samoa who were the Cup winners in the USA rugby sevens, New Zealand who were runners up and Fiji who came third have been put to the top of the three pools A, B and C. the rest of the nine teams have been put to different pools depending upon their current World Series Ranking. This way it ensures that every team gets a fair chance and at the same time the best teams are given the right opportunities to go till the end of the tournament.

Thus the final groupings of the tournament stand as-Pool A comprises Samoa, England, Kenya and Argentina. Pool B on the other hand comprises New Zealand, South Africa, USA and Wales. Pool C on the other hand comprises Fiji, Australia, Scotland and France. Pool D comprises Tonga, Uruguay, Hong Kong the hosts and China. Pool E comprises Canada, Spain, Zimbabwe and newcomers Philippines. Pool F, the last of the lot, comprises Portugal, Russia, Japan and newcomers Guyana.

This Rugby Sevens event is a very important one as all the core teams that will participate in the Cup, Bowl and Plate will be receiving World Series Ranking, which is a big thing on its own. And the top three teams will automatically get the status of the core team in the series coming next year.